the scene

shrf honours leading vaccine researcher for health research achievement

ora founder serese selanders selected to attend fierce founders bootcamp

co.labs accepting applications for next cohort

governments invest $7.7 million in crop research

agrimatics at innovation place featured as saskatchewan success story

imii's innovation award recognizes emerging technology in the minerals industry

imii's DEMOday showcases local innovations to major mining companies

co.labs at innovation place achieves notable success in 2017

innovative solutions canada program supports innovators and entrepreneurs



2016 award of innovation recipient honoured in regina

(l to r) Dr. David Malloy, VP (Research), U of R,
Dr. Shanthi Johnson, and Ken Loeppky,
VP & COO, Innovation Place

Congratulations to this year's Award of Innovation recipient, Dr. Shanthi Johnson.

The Award of Innovation, sponsored by Innovation Place, recognizes original research that has the potential to create substantive societal benefits.

Dr. Johnson was recognized for her project entitled Saskatchewan Advantage: Focus on Functional Capacity and Falls in Seniors.

Dr. Johnson, along with her research team and her partners at the Regina Qu’Appelle Health Region, developed and implemented an exercise program for seniors who live on their own.

Seniors enrolled in this program go from being home bound or requiring significant assistance to move, to being self sufficient and able to leave their home.

The socioeconomic impact of this research, in terms of improved quality of life and reducing costs to the health care system, will be significant.

The award was presented by David Malloy, Vice President (Research), University of Regina at the Paragon Awards on Friday, April 1. The award includes a $2,500 prize.

About the Award of Innovation

The Award of Innovation is administered by the Office for Research, Innovation and Partnership at the University of Regina.

Nominees must be faculty, staff, or students of the University of Regina who have made a significant contribution to a nominated research project.

Eligible projects must be completed at the University of Regina and have a significant impact on the well being of Canadians, now or in the future.

Recipients are chosen annually by a selection committee comprised of representatives from the University of Regina, the local community and Innovation Place.

For more information about the Award of Innovation, visit the Innovation Place website.

- April 5, 2016

website © innovation place